Anga niwoka na mubira” she asked seemingly elated that I had gone to visit her.

I looked behind me to see that ball she thought I had come with as I had no balls with me at the time-well except of course for my steel pair.

Seeing me looking around searching for something she must have known there was something I was missing.

Muithikiri..” she said…pointing to my little BMX bike that I had inherited from my brother.IMG_20150522_080150

Apparently, a ‘bicycle’ translated into native kikuyu is mubira. To say I was excited would be an understatement. Learning that from her made it all the more sweeter.

***

That holds as one of my first memories of meeting her. For a long time I only knew her as cucu. She was my grandma albeit from another bloodline. She had a sister too, who was also old. She-her fascinated me as she used to eat soil and I would always got to see her to savor the stories that she would narrate to me. Sadly she passed a while ago…but their integration into our family had been cemented.

Cucu used to help me in looking for animal feeds as a show of gratitude for helping her out with whatever she wanted like searching for firewood. She would tell me off every time I tried to tell her that all she needed to do was to tell me where I would get the majani and I would do the rest but she always insisted in bringing them home.

1934<>2015

Well, sometime back this year, she fell sick…..and that proved to be fatal. She gave her all, I know she did as she always insisted in giving her all in everything she did, you should have seen her dancing in church. She would later succumb to it after she suffered a stroke, which proved to be a heavy blow for her wilting body to handle.

She passed on on 2nd of this month.

As I helped in throwing sand in her burial, I felt the loss of not only a friend but also a family member.

She had taught me not only another word for bicycle in kikuyu but also being self-reliant even in old age. Giving all I have in whatever it is I’m doing.

Am surely she is in a better place, free of the pains of sickness et al…

May the good Lord rest her soul in eternal peace…. She will surely be missed.

 

 

